Leaving geology for a black willow

I’m not that active here as you might have noticed. The reason is mainly that Ive decided to quit studying geology this winter without being finished with my MSc… Yes I’m a quitter…

While becoming a father last year my plans for the future changed. I am now working on starting up my own business (black willow creations) in app development instead (not much to see yet at the webpage) and I hope to work from home being there for my daughter at all times.

I still love geology, but the jobs are not located where I live in Sweden and that also influenced me. Moving to the north of the country is not my cup of tea. I like the civilization. And I hate the dark and cold of the arctic with winter like 11 months of the year and mosquitos and eternal sun that single month of the summer. (Think Alaska, and youve got the north of Sweden). Ive come to a point in life where family and freedom matters to me. Being employed at some mining company from 7 am to 5 pm far from family and civilization… no thank you.

But on an amateur level I might continue to blog here despite all this. Not sure yet. If I do it will be just a few posts a year and most likely only about Swedish geology & nature.

If you keep me in your rss-flow or what you use to read this you will find out. If not, I won’t blame you. It’s been great blogging and I love the response I’ve got when I was active here. I hope that I will find the time and inspiration to blog some more. I really do.

Rock on!

This entry was posted in Biomineral & organominerals, Climate & environment, Economy & politics, Excursions & travels, Exogeology & astronomy, Geoarchaeology, Gotland, Landscapes & Geomorphology, Mineralogy, Paleontology, Petrology, philosophy & history, Pseudoscience, Religion, Scania (Skåne), Sedimentology, Tectonics & volcano, Uncategorized, University & Study. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leaving geology for a black willow

  1. Not an easy choice – I’m nearly halfway through a year out of my undergrad geology BSc on health grounds, and it wasn’t an easy choice to make, but at the end of the day, my health comes first! There’s no harm in keeping an interest in your subject area, but you’ve recognised that there are more important things than another qualification. Good luck with the app!

    Laura (thegeologyshop)

  2. Daniel says:

    Health comes first, absolutely. Take care and good luck to you to! :)

  3. Good luck anyway.
    Lycka till!

Leave a Reply

